www.kostlivy.com

Vilem in the office in Montreal Hi, my name's Vilem.

I was born in Prague, the beautiful capital city of the Czech Republic.
When I was about six years old, my family moved to Litvinov, a city in the northern part of the country where I attended public school, and after which I studied at SPS in the city of Most, a few kilometers from Litvinov .

During the summer of 1968, Czechoslovakia was overrun and occupied by the then so called 'brothers' from the Warsaw pact countries.  My country went from the brief "socialism with a human face" back to the darkest times of communism.

At that time I did not see a bright future for my country nor for me and so I decided to emigrate to Canada, unfortunately leaving behind my parents, one sister, my relatives and many good friends.  My other sister, an artist, also emigrated, but at a later date, and now lives in Canada as well.

Eventually, I settled in Montreal.  Here I met my lovely wife, who is also Czech, and we started our family.  We have three beautiful children.

What are my hobbies and interests?

Well these pages and the research of our family name must now rank as a first.

I also like sports and hockey in particular.  I am a fan of two teams, each on a different continent.  Here, of course, it is the Montreal Canadiens and across the big pond, Chemopetrol Litvinov .  With sports comes beer.  Right?  Besides, I would not be a 'real' Czech if I did not like beer, Czech beer that is.  Here are some of my favorites.

We have no pets in our house at this time, but when our children we growing up we used to have, at any given time, one or more of the following.  Some, like the wild birds, we nurtured back to health and let them go. The others died happily of natural causes. Our dog, Pushkin, was with us for fourteen years.
From this gallery you'll also see that I like birds very much.